Progress Report

This is going to be a very brief post. Just a quick update. Stop laughing; I’m serious. Yes, I can be verbose, but I’m a little busy and you’ll see why in a minute. I wanted to provide a status update on some significant developments. But first, a little background for perspective.

Generally speaking, the process for PhD programs in management is consistent across schools. Anywhere from 40 to a 100 people submit applications (sometimes even more at the “big name” programs). The average for my targeted schools seems to be about 70.

The admissions committee, which could be as small as 3 members or as large as the entire department faculty, then reviews the packages and eliminates roughly 70% of the applicants. Maybe more. The remaining candidates are ranked and phone interviews are conducted. Another cut is made, this time down to just a handful that are seriously being considered for an admissions offer. Those few are invited to campus for a visit and an in-person interview. If they don’t botch it completely, some or all of them should receive offers. (NOTE: Yes, apparently people actually completely botch it. UNC-Chapel Hill invited 3 people to campus last year and decided it was a complete waste of time. No one got an offer and UNC admitted no one to their program.)

The timing of these steps varies, due to the workload of the faculty involved and the application deadlines. I wasn’t expecting any word until February, but through my calls and emails, I learned that a few programs had already started the evaluation process. Here’s where the me being busy part kicks in.

 

Significant Development #1

Florida State has already made their initial cut and scheduled phone interviews. I am not sure how many interview invitations went out, but I am one of the fortunate ones. The director of their program will call me tomorrow at 1:30 PM to interview me. Cross appropriate body parts and pray fervently that I make it through and to the campus interview round. Though they ranked in the bottom quartile of my last rankings (likely in need of an update based on phone calls with faculty), they have been climbing due to a good bond with a professor there. So, I am busy practicing for it by interviewing myself. Yes, that is as hilarious as it sounds.

 

Significant Development #2

I mentioned a while back that Oklahoma State had shown interest shortly after my application package arrived and asked if I would consider coming to campus. Well, it’s official now. Their application period is technically still open, but the program director has already contacted 4 of us to come to campus for interviews. BOOM! I’m in the finals, baby! Want even better news? His invitation actually went to all 4 of us simultaneously because he wanted us to know that it was NOT a competition. They have 4 openings this year. If we’re all a fit, we’ll all get in. Naturally, I am brushing up on research publications for their entire department.

 

OK, that’s enough for now.

III

1 Comment

Filed under PhD, Process, Programs

One response to “Progress Report

  1. Margaret Ellen

    AWESOME!!!!
    I’m SO PROUD and EXCITED of/for you!!
    Everything’s crossed! Best of everything with the garnet & gold chat tomorrow!

Leave a comment