Offers In (updated)

I apologize for post overload this weekend, but a week filled with travel and visits meant a lot of stuff to write and update on. Then, at the end of the week the offers started coming in and I want to try to show a view into the process by sharing what’s on the table prior to making the decision. So, if you’re tired of hearing from me, don’t worry. I’ll likely need a break from all the drama soon. Plus, come August I’ll be drowning in journal articles and will  have much less to share…or at least much less to share that is interesting to the general public.

My first offer for doctoral work arrived at 2:01 AM eastern time, Thursday night/Friday morning. I was somewhat shocked, expecting not to hear anything until Friday and was actually hoping to just take the day off from thinking PhD stuff. But, I woke up in the midst of an intense rainstorm and (like the addict that I am) rolled over to check my phone and discovered that Oklahoma State University had struck first. Less than 14 hours later, Georgia State took the the next shot, making their offer. Florida State’s offer came in on 3/2.

Here’s how things break down:

Oklahoma State

They have an average base stipend, but add in a summer teaching stipend, waive 15 of 18 credits per year, waive out of state tuition for the remaining credits, add health care coverage, and include a department-funded supplemental stipend. In my offer was the note that my supplemental stipend was the largest the department had ever awarded. I include this not to flash arrogance, but rather to display their commitment to me. It is clear from this move, and subsequent emails, that they really want me to be there. As analytical as I am, I am still susceptible to psychological triggers and I will admit that it makes me feel good to be wanted. Here are some fun quotes from the email exchange:

We seriously don’t want to lose you to a “peer institution.”  I understand if it’s UNC or Wisconsin.

We’re going to have a very strong group and it will be a research-focused environment where you’ll get a lot of faculty attention and deep training.  If there’s anything we can do to make you say yes, do not hesitate to ask.

If it comes down to personal preferences, there’s obviously nothing I can do.  But I would gladly join in a battle if it’s between some of those peer schools like Auburn or Florida State.

The only downside of the offer is their desire for me to make a decision within the week. I managed to secure a few extra days to allow other offers to arrive, and am not sure how my emotional stability will be this week. On the bright side, it appears that the deadline will prevent me from engaging in “paralysis by analysis” and working myself into too much of a frenzy.

Georgia State

They offer a stipend competitive to what Oklahoma State provides, minus the moving allowance. I also think their health care costs might be more, but again they offer the 5th year of funding without making a candidate jump through too many hoops. And, they waive all tuition, leaving me only responsible for the university fees.

The director was far less direct than her counterpart at Oklahoma State, but she made it clear that they wanted me there. Also, the speed at which they moved in the process seems to indicate that they wanted to act quickly to avoid missing an opportunity to get me there.

Interestingly, they also want a decision within the week. If you are looking for things to pray for, my sanity should be on that list. I’m likely to be uber-distracted this week so try to pray for those on the Atlanta-area roadways, too, in case I get overly spacey while behind the wheel.

Florida State

The base stipend is higher than both Oklahoma State and Georgia State. Not much higher, and likely not high enough that OSU wouldn’t match it. FSU doesn’t cover all of health care, but gives a health care subsidy that covers about 40% of the premium costs. There is no moving allowance, but a 5th year of funding is possible, depending on how research is progressing.

They were also very complimentary over the phone and were curious who the competing schools were. They also wanted to know how their funding package stacked up against the competition. They led me to believe that I was their first offer and that two more offers would be made (possibly another if I were to decline).

Auburn

They have not made an official offer, but they have made it very clear that they want me there. They have also passed word to me through the head of the management department that they are worried I won’t seriously consider them and are scrapping for extra funds from the dean to try to make the offer more competitive. When I left campus on Thursday, they told me to call them if I needed the offer before March 3rd.

Chapel Hill

I did not make the final 6 there, but am honored to have made it into the top 15. Had I received an offer here, it would have been nearly impossible to say no. Even the directors at other programs were telling me not to pass that opportunity. Given that, being strongly considered by UNC is a huge validation of my application package.

***

As much as Georgia State has surprised me, it’s really becoming a 2-horse race between Oklahoma State and Florida State. Stress level is high right now and I’m trying to cram extra due diligence in. I had a call with OSU faculty on Monday and have traded several emails with them and their students. I have a call set up with FSU faculty tomorrow and will be emailing their students as well.

I need Advil.

III

2 Comments

Filed under PhD, Process, Programs

2 responses to “Offers In (updated)

  1. Margaret Ellen

    So proud of you, and excited that you have all these options, even with the temporary emotional/mental chaos the decision making brings. What complimentary comments from all the ‘powers that be’ in the institutions!!
    Love you!
    Mom

  2. Halee

    And to think, it was just a few months ago when our prayers were along the lines of “God, he just needs one…all would be nice, of course, but just one.”
    Like we documented this evening around 7:15, I was right. (I have to relish those occasions.) No plan B needed…God has shown up in a mighty way and I’m so honored to be able to watch it all unfold.
    Incredibly proud of you and anxious to see the future that is in store for you.
    Proverbs 19:21, “Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.”
    Much love,
    HR

Leave a comment